Ngā Whetu (2-5 yrs)

 Twenty Places


Ngā Whetū; Stars shine and so do our young children.
Ngā Whetū in its whole sense nurtures, supports and celebrates the holistic way children learn and grow, healthy in mind body and spirit.

Each point of the star represents each strand of Te Whāriki, – the Early Childhood Curriculum which underpins our teaching practice.


  • Well-being – Mana Atua =
The health and well-being of the child is promoted.
  • Belonging – Mana Whenua =
Children and their families feel a sense of belonging.
  • Contribution – Mana Tangata=
Opportunities for learning are equitable and each child’s contribution is valued.
  • Communication – Mana Reo =
The language and symbols of their own and other cultures are promoted and protected.
  • Exploration – Mana Aotūroa =
Children learn through active exploration of their environment.

DSCF6425Our Ngā Whetū programme incorporates all the above strands which are woven throughout the curriculum.

At this age children have distinctive development needs, characteristics and behaviours.

Our teachers are responsive and caring they understand, accept and support children’s holistic development.

Our programme offers opportunities for independance, exploration, predictable and challenging happenings, while enhancing children’s natural curiosity for spontaneity and fun.